Home

Pen in sketchbook.

Pen in sketchbook.

As I was trying to get back into drawing I decided to draw the things around me. I drew the above piece while watching the documentary Here is Always Somewhere Else: The Disappearance of Bas Jan Ader. He disappeared on the ocean on a very small boat. He was a performance artist so I suppose that wasn’t too far out of the ordinary for him.

There is poor sketch of Mondrian’s work in the corner because Ader admired his art. There are videos of Ader artistically communicating with Mondrian. Pretty cool.

Pen and marker in sketchbook.

Pen and marker in sketchbook.

This was the view from my bed as I watched Frida. The movie was good but I probably missed a large portion of it because of the drawing.

Pen and marker in sketchbook.

Pen and marker in sketchbook.

The piece with the bedroom view reminded me of a drawing that I had done in the summer. It’s from the Italian Bakery in Chinatown (I know, kind of funny). I couldn’t fit all of the text, so it isn’t completely accurate. But I think I did a good job on the line work. As I was drawing I remember hearing a bunch of business men drinking coffee and gossiping about others. Gossiping about who would get the next promotion.

This entry was published on Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 12:45 pm. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

