Grab Some Heart.

 

Watercolour and pen in sketchbook.

Watercolour and pen in sketchbook.

So it has been awhile. There was something different about this last term. It could have been that I had to mentally switch between creative and academic writing, or that it was my first full term living completely on my own. It was also my first term being single (you think that that would have freed up some time, but I ended up watching a lot of movies and doing a lot of nothing).

It’s Christmas break and I am finally getting back into making art. The piece above didn’t translate from my brain exactly as I wanted it to. But I think the meaning might still be there. I always thought that love was supposed to lighten everything and lift you up (“Love lift us up where we belong
Where the eagles cry on a mountain high
Love lift us up where we belong
Far from the world we know, up where the clear winds blow.” ––Joe Cocker). Some love really doesn’t do that. Love can be truly painful. And at the end of it you might not recognize yourself.

This entry was published on Monday, December 15, 2014 at 5:23 pm. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

