Number Six: Notes from a chicken

Pen and watercolour.

Pen and watercolour. So this is a self portrait. It’s not meant to be attractive, but I guess it does resemble me.

I am hungry for you to

swallow me

whole.

Swallow me and spit

out my bones and

cough up my feathers.

Don’t forget to

chew some Tums.

I’d hate to give you

indigestion. I’ll sit on your

plate just for you. I won’t even

squawk. You’ll say a nice

family

prayer to the great

man in the sky.

“Bless us,”

Please spoon me.

“O Lord,”

Fork me into your

mouth.

Christ, our Lord

Down I slide.

Amen

This entry was published on Wednesday, August 13, 2014 at 7:35 pm. It’s filed under Artwork, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

