Join the Abyss and The Abyss

Watercolour and ink on wood.

Watercolour and ink on wood.

Watercolour, ink, and acrylic on wood.

Watercolour, ink, and acrylic on wood.

I had painted these pieces awhile ago. For once they’re not of writers! Happy?

Join the Abyss. I’m not really sure where “Join the Abyss” came from. Mack says that it reminds him of suicide, but I don’t think that’s where I was going with it. Maybe more of that numb feeling. Hidden away from the world. Or maybe being part of a niche society (that might be a bit of a stretch). I just thought of someone sitting at the bottom of the ocean, and all they can see is darkness. You wouldn’t know if something is above you (like a giant koi fish). But maybe the stillness would be nice. The writing is just “Join the Abyss” over and over again. Pretty simple.

The Abyss. The title seems pretty counterintuitive. You would think that the first painting would be called “The Abyss.” Ok, maybe there was a little laziness on my part in coming up with a name for the second painting. But when you think about it, an abyss could be anything. It’s subjective (ok, try not to roll your eyes). I recently re-watched the movie, It’s Kind of a Funny Story. The protagonist comes from a relatively normal family, and he hasn’t experienced any kind of trauma. He is puzzled by why he would want to kill himself (especially at such a young age and compared to the other patients). My point is that an abyss isn’t the same for everyone. The ship could be a hell for some people, and a reprieve for others.

Would you prefer the entrance to the abyss or the abyss? Based on the paintings, I think I would prefer the ship. But either way I lose because I’m not a fan of water.

The reason I hadn’t posted about these paintings sooner is because I had submitted them to an upcoming arts magazine. This morning I got an email from them. They decided not to use my art but they encouraged me to submit some of my fiction, which they are familiar with because of The Wanderer.

I’m pleased that they would want my fiction, but at the same time I feel disillusioned. In getting ready for the show I have set aside writing and poured everything into art. And now I feel that it is not good enough. The more I think about it the more disappointed I get. But I suppose I should be happy that I have these two skills to offer. Rejection is also a huge part of the profession that I have chosen.

“I love my rejection slips. They show me I try.” – Sylvia Plath

“Any reviewer who expresses rage and loathing for a novel is preposterous. He or she is like a person who has put on full armor and attacked a hot fudge sundae.” – Kurt Vonnegut

On the Vonnegut quote. I know no one has responded to my work in anger (yet), but I just like the imagery.

This entry was published on Saturday, June 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

