Cutting out the Windows and Everyday Viewing

Watercolour and pen in sketchbook.

Watercolour and pen in sketchbook.

Watercolour and pen in sketchbook.

Watercolour and pen in sketchbook.

Yesterday I meandered (one of my favourite words) over to Macewan to get out of the apartment. I love my apartment but it gets hard to spend so much time alone. The evenings are the worst.

I sat by the Starbucks. Watching the students come and go, I was surprised that no one seemed to noticed that I was drawing. Did nobody care about my creativity! I’m artsy, god dammit!

No, just kidding. That’s not really what I thought, but I was surprised. I’m always so curious when I see someone drawing. What kind of style do they have? Do they avoid drawing people so as not to ogle? What kind of pen are they using?

Anyways, I just started drawing. I was really trying to focus on fine, simple lines. Really clean. I was too lazy to draw what was outside of the window (kids were playing frisbee, so I suppose it could have been pretty swell), so when my friend met me I just packed up the drawing.

At home, after cutting out the windows, I thought about what one might want to see outside of a university window. So in order to contrast with the school’s sharp, cold lines, I drew something that is soft and organic. I’ve also been watching a lot of Mad Men, so that’s where the 60s feel might be coming from.

With the design in the background, the school’s Starbucks has turned into a soda fountain joint.

This entry was published on Thursday, May 8, 2014 at 11:10 pm. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

