“I’m not going to let anybody see you.”

Watercolour, pen and ink on watercolour paper.

Watercolour, pen and ink on watercolour paper.

This painting was inspired by Bukowski’s “Bluebird” poem. I knew I really wanted to do something with this poem, but I had no idea that it had already been thoroughly represented in art (including tattoo art). Don’t believe me? Google it. Anyways, I tried to do something a little different. Mack pointed out that in the sketchbook version the bird on the left appears to be a “dream bird.” The lines are thinner and the paint is lighter, so I see what he means. That translates to the ‘final’ version of the painting to a certain extent. The bird on the left has a certain faintness.

On a side-note, I think the painting would make a pretty charming tattoo.

Watercolour, pen and ink in sketchbook.

Watercolour, pen and ink in sketchbook.

This entry was published on Sunday, May 4, 2014 at 11:54 pm. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on ““I’m not going to let anybody see you.”

  1. It really is charming isn’t it. I’m a sucker for things like this

Leave a Reply

