Coming Apart

The Kettle

Watercolour and pen in sketchbook.

So this is kind of a commission. A group of school friends are putting together a website for creative writing. I was asked (and so was one other person) to draw a kettle to represent the site. In short, I’m competing against another artist.

Even if my painting isn’t picked, I am still happy with the piece. If I don’t win I am going to avoid blaming it on nepotism, because that’s just not productive. Ok, it will totally be at the back of my mind.

Anyways, the centre section of writing is Walt Whitman’s “1861.” The left section is Charles Bukowski’s “Are You Drinking,” and some of “A Smile to Remember.” Finally, the right section is some of Allen Ginsberg’s “A Supermarket in California.”

Why these particular poets and poems? Well, when this writing group (the one that’s putting together the site) gets together, these are a few of the poets who are read aloud.

I am also really getting into Bukowski (even if he was a terrible person). So far I’m a big fan of “Bluebird.” Idea for a painting? Oh, I think so! The dirty and rebellious part of me also really likes “Yes Yes.” New goal: to memorize this poem and recite it as often as possible — preferably in very public places.

And, as you know, I’ve always loved Ginsberg.

Honestly, I haven’t read too much of Whitman. New goal!

This entry was published on Friday, May 2, 2014 at 9:55 am. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

