They Come as a Set

Pen and Watercolour on paper. Sketchbook.

Pen and Watercolour on paper. Sketchbook.

Once again as I was creating an 8Tracks playlist, a wave of creativity hit me. Ok, I’m kind of lying. I painted the owls specifically for the playlist. But that still counts, right?

The playlist is centred around love and so I thought about painting love birds. But that would have been too cliche — so I give you owls! They don’t really look like they are in love. Maybe it’s that long enduring kind of love. I feel like I should write more about enduring love, but I don’t really have any first hand experience. I don’t think two and a half-ish years count as enduring — those years are just a preview of what is to come (hopefully the full-length-feature will be better than the previews). When I think of enduring I think of my Grandparents. At times they seem to be obstinately cruel to one another, but at other times like when they sit outside together in silence, their comfortable silence speaks of their contentedness.

They  say that when one spouse dies, the other usually doesn’t last much longer. Maybe it’s because the silence becomes real after death. Someone understood your strange habits (like having to check the alarm five times), your secrets (like that you really don’t like that many people), and the inner workings of your family. When that person dies, who will understand you?

Some might say, “what’s the point of getting that close to someone, if in the end they are really what’s going to kill you?”

Here, I think I will have to resort to a quote from Annie Hall:

“It reminds me of that old joke- you know, a guy walks into a psychiatrist’s office and says, hey doc, my brother’s crazy! He thinks he’s a chicken. Then the doc says, why don’t you turn him in? Then the guy says, I would but I need the eggs. I guess that’s how I feel about relationships. They’re totally crazy, irrational, and absurd, but we keep going through it because we need the eggs.”

 

This entry was published on Saturday, April 12, 2014 at 6:30 pm. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

