Just Like Starting Over

With my dear Raleigh in our apartment in Chinatown.

With my dear Raleigh in our apartment in Chinatown.

I haven’t written since last summer. I said I would keep it up, but to no avail. After finishing my last essay last night I couldn’t sleep, and so I decided to make a playlist on 8Tracks (if you haven’t heard of the site, I suggest that you check it out). The playlist was moody (I’m not sure if moody covers it. I’m listening to it now, and I’m slowly sinking into a hole of dark contemplation), and folkish. Anyways, it got a lot of attention on the site. Ok, by “a lot” I mean more than five likes. The point is I had forgotten how much I liked interacting with the outside world, the vast and unmeasurable world of the internet. And because I am human I had missed the secret validation. The folks behind the username usually don’t expect much more than an interesting read and a follow-up post. They (you) are the motivation to keep writing and sloshing paint on canvas.

Besides having more time and wanting to stave off boredom, I wanted to set a goal in order to create more things. At the end of June I am guest curating at a small venue (I’ll be showing my own art as well). So just as it was the case with the Art Walk last summer, I need something to keep me motivated. I want to paint (or slosh paint on) large canvas, just really huge canvas. But at this point I feel more connected to my bed than to a paint brush. I’m dry. My brain is stock full with literary theory, Tennyson and Browning (I’m really tempted to post my essay on Tennyson and Browning, but I fear that it would be just too stuffy).

So as an attempt to get back into drawing and painting, I will actually use a sketchbook AND post my creations here.

This one is inspired by Beirut (the band). Well, it's rough.  Possible tattoo? Maybe.

This one is inspired by Beirut (the band). Well, it’s rough.
Possible tattoo? Maybe.

I was in a very New York mood (or what I imagine to be a New York mood) when I drew this piece.

I was in a very New York mood (or what I imagine to be a New York mood) when I drew this piece.

This entry was published on Wednesday, April 9, 2014 at 9:49 pm. It’s filed under Artwork, Short Non-Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

