Slouching Towards Bethlehem – Joan Didion

Pen & watercolour on watercolour paper.

Pen & watercolour on watercolour paper.

This is a painting of Joan Didion that I started, and finished today.

The Process. 

Here is the inspiration for my painting. -Photo linked from The Foodinista.

Choosing this image was easy. I love the shadow, and sternness that can be viewed in the photograph.

As I finished up the painting, my boyfriend leaned over my shoulder only to exclaim that, “it looks like she’s just robbed a bank.” Now, of course she hasn’t, but if she ever would it would probably be in those sunglasses.

Now to the actual drawing & painting. 

Here are the first few sketches.

Here are the first few sketches.

I had started the drawing on watercolour paper, only planning for it to be a draft. I had the canvas primed and everything!

I gradually added pen, giving the painting the shadow seen in the original photograph.

I gradually added pen, giving the painting the shadow seen in the original photograph.

After awhile, I started getting that feeling I get when I like a piece. Both anxiety, and satisfaction began to swell. And so, I decided to continue with the piece as an actual piece. 

It took considerable thought as to what I should have in the background. I almost painted flowers, something native to California. But as you can see, she doesn’t really appear to be a “flowery’ person. She’s no Ginsberg.

Stalling, I painted the background yellow. Then I took the plunge, and conservatively splattered red and black watercolour. It ended up looking rather “badass;” it goes well with her expression.

Who is Joan Didion? 

I first discovered Didion when a few friends recommended her. After reading Slouching Towards Bethlehem, I found myself intrigued by her style, and subject matter.

For those who don’t know, Didion is a writer celebrated for her literary journalism. Slouching Towards Bethlehem is a collection of essays centered around Didion’s experience during the 1960s. In one essay readers are allowed a new, and unfamiliar glimpse into Haight-Ashbury.

On a last note. 

Didion titled Slouching Towards Bethlehem after the poem”The Second Coming,” by William Blake. I also greatly admire the work of Blake, and so I decided to give my painting the same title.

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on Wednesday, June 19, 2013 at 10:56 pm. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Slouching Towards Bethlehem – Joan Didion

  1. Their is a lot of personality in your work, which is why I keep visiting here

Leave a Reply

