HOLY, HOLY – Allen Ginsberg

Holy, Holy - Allen Ginsberg

 

Oh, the wonderful Allen Ginsberg

This is the second piece in my Beats collection (Kerouac was the first). I love both writers, but my heart really does belong to Ginsberg. I love his strangeness, and his overwhelming flamboyancy. I adore “Howl,” “America,” and “A Supermarket In California.”  This is the piece that I will miss most when it sells, if it sells.

For those who don’t know, Ginsberg was a beat poet and writer best known for his poem, “Howl.”

More about the actual piece. 

I chose to paint the young Ginsberg because of how open his face appears. He still looks innocent, and a little less frazzled.

I mean, he looks friendly here, but...

I mean, he looks friendly…
– PoetryFoundation.org

The photo that inspired the drawing can be found in a lot of places, but to make it easier, here’s the link

I drew flowers in the background (instead of writing, for once!) for two reasons.

One, because of this photo:

He loves me, he loves me not…

Two, I wanted to get away from just writing in the background. I was very tempted to do so. I am pretty happy that I stuck to my decision.

On a last note about the piece, the title, Holy, Holy is from”Footnote to Howl.”

I wonder what beat inspired piece will be next.

This entry was published on Thursday, June 6, 2013 at 5:39 am. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “HOLY, HOLY – Allen Ginsberg

  1. Bloody brilliant if I may say soi

  2. Oh thank you very much.

  3. Pingback: Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness. ~Allen Ginsberg | owFotografik

  4. Pingback: Coming Apart | Emily Storvold

  5. Pingback: Who stood before you speechless — Allen Ginsberg | Emily Storvold

Leave a Reply

