No One Is Listening

No One is Listening

So this was my first attempt at a photo transfer. I used an acrylic gel medium, perhaps next time I will try something else.

Steps that I took to create this piece: 

1) Prime water colour board with gesso – let it dry – and apply another coat

2) Paint over with acrylic – and let that dry – Next time I think I will try water colour.

3) I chose the photo that I wanted to transfer. In this case I chose an image from the book Vintage Fashion: Collecting and Wearing Designer Classics (a few years ago I fancied myself quite the fashionista). When choosing this image, I was a little worried that the paper was too thick. Next time I think I will try something thinner. On a side note, don’t use images from your printer; images produced from an ink-jet printer will not work.

4) I slathered the acrylic gel medium onto the primed water colour board (only on the area where the image would be placed). I then placed the image face down onto the area covered in gel. To ensure that there would be no air bubbles left, I ran an old giftcard over the image.

5) Now the wait. I left the gel to dry over night. Some people recommend only 3-4 hours, others say up to 24 hours. The longer the better.

6) Now here is where I think I went wrong. In my impatience, I used a dampened facecloth to remove the paper layer of the image. I did this so vigorously that I ended up with a blister on the tip of my pointer finger. Most people say to wet the paper with a spray bottle, and to slowly, and arduously remove the paper with your fingers.

No need to chastise, I learned my lesson.

So my impatience may have been the cause of the roughness of the transfer.

Anyways, now to the deeper meaning: 

The writing in the back is made up of countless feminist quotes. I used the words of Simone de Beauvoir, Gloria SteinemAnaïs NinVirginia Woolf, and many more. I chose the writing, and the title, “No One Is Listening,” because despite the many words of feminists, the message frequently goes unnoticed.

A Few Last Words:

Despite the roughness of the piece, I enjoyed the process. I fretted (my boyfriend can attest to this) and then reveled at the uncovering of the transfer. Next time, I will just have to grit my teeth, whip out the spray bottle and steadily peel at the paper.

This entry was published on Wednesday, June 5, 2013 at 4:01 am. It’s filed under Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “No One Is Listening

  1. I have to admire your determination to acquire new skills, even at the cost of the odd blister, but the resulting work is more than worth the effort in my opinion

    • Thanks, I think I might try another one soon. I’ll post it when I’m finished, and you can tell me what you think. Hopefully there’s some improvement.
      I guess for my first one, this one turned out ok. Thanks again for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

